Town of Kearny
New Jersey


Resolution Authorizing the Use of Enterprise Zone Assistance Funds for the Kearny Clean Project Year 9 in an Amount of not to Exceed $30,940 (includes Local Share of $12,375) during the Period of January 1, 2018 through June 30, 2018.


Department:KuezSponsors:Mayor Alberto G. Santos


              WHEREAS, the Mayor and Council and the Kearny Enterprise Zone Development Corporation deem it to be in the interest of the Town to continue to maintain and operate the Kearny Clean Project Year 9 Program; and


WHEREAS, the proposal is an eligible use of Urban Enterprise Zone Assistance Funds under the provisions of the Urban Enterprise Zone Act, N.J.S.A. 52:27H-60 et seq., and requested expenditures for said proposal of not to exceed $18,565 during the period of January 1, 2018 through June 30, 2018 have been deposited in the Enterprise Zone Assistance Fund by the New Jersey Division of Taxation and are available for use by the Town; and


              WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:27H-88(c) in order to fund the project from monies deposited in the Enterprise Zone Assistance Fund, the governing body must first conduct a public hearing on the project and adopt a Resolution approving the project and authorizing the submission of the application for funding; and


              WHEREAS, a public hearing has been held on March 13, 2018, now, therefore, be it


              RESOLVED, that the Mayor and Council of the Town of Kearny, in the County of Hudson, hereby authorizes a request of not to exceed $18,565 be made to continue to maintain and operate the Kearny UEZ Clean Project Year 9 Program, as to which the Town of Kearny shall pay 40% of the total cost of the officers amounting up to $12,375 for a grand total of not to exceed $30,940 in expenditures, and to receive approval for the subsequent release of Zone Assistance Fund Monies to be credited to the account of the Town of Kearny.

Meeting History

Mar 13, 2018 7:00 PM  Council Caucus / Regular Meeting
draft Draft
MOVER:Alberto G. Santos, Mayor
SECONDER:Eileen Eckel, Council Member
AYES:Carol Jean Doyle, Susan McCurrie, Eileen Eckel, Richard Konopka, Peter Santana, Alberto G. Santos
ABSENT:Michael Landy, Albino Cardoso, Marytrine DeCastro